Detective Shaw’s destiny is revealed in “Beyond the Limit”

It’s time to find out how it ends.

Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli
2 min readJun 16, 2023

Beyond the Limit, the final book in the Detective Eric Shaw Trilogy, is out today.

How far would you go to protect a secret?

Eleven months have passed after the events narrated in Syndrome.
In addition to involving the reader in the hunt for a heinous serial killer through some of the most famous glimpses of London, Beyond the Limit is also the final act of the evolution of Eric’s character. Once convinced that bending the rules to bring criminals to justice was still right, Eric sees that belief falter as he finds himself justifying the crimes of his pupil, who has only ever killed murderers. Now he too will be forced to deal with the darkest part of his soul.

You can download the ebook version or purchase one of the print editions (paperback and hardcover) directly from your favourite online store around the world.
A complete list of links is available on the website dedicated to the trilogy:

The price starts from £3.99/$4.99/€4.99 for the ebook edition.

Click or tap here to purchase the book!

You can also order it at your favourite Waterstones (UK) and Barnes & Noble (USA) bricks-and-mortar store.

Official description of Beyond the Limit.

The lifeless body of a woman wearing an evening dress is discovered in the party room of the wax museum. Everything would suggest suicide, but DCI Eric Shaw, team chief at the Forensic Services of Scotland Yard who’s investigating the scene with crime scene investigator Adele Pennington, immediately notices a few similarities with the case of a serial killer nicknamed Plastic Surgeon, closed three years ago with the arrest of Robert Graham.
Perhaps someone is emulating Graham, or he had an accomplice, but there is a third possibility that especially concerns Eric, who, being convinced of Graham’s guilt, tampered with the physical evidence to ensure his conviction.
What if he made a mistake and sent the wrong person to jail?
After eleven months, and despite her reluctance, he once again finds himself working with DI Miriam Leroux from the Murder Investigation Teams. Now they have to race against time to follow the trail of the elusive murderer.
This is possibly Shaw’s final major case before a promotion to superintendent. The other contender for advancement being DCI George Jankowski, a man who is not afraid to weed out the dirty secrets of others to get what he wants.
And Eric and his pupil hide an unspeakable secret.

The destiny of DCI Eric Shaw is about to be fulfilled.

Click or tap here to purchase the book!

I wish you happy reading and I hope you’re enjoying the Detective Eric Shaw Trilogy!

Originally published at



Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli

Italian science fiction & thriller author, scientific & literary translator, biologist, educator, dreamer. 🇮🇹: EN: I ❤️🎾