Detective Eric Shaw returns in “Syndrome”

It’s time to find out what happens next.


Syndrome, the sequel to the international bestseller The Mentor and book 2 in the Detective Eric Shaw Trilogy, is finally here for you to read it.

What is the difference between dedication and obsession?

Two years have passed, and new murders bring DCI Shaw and Mina together again.
In addition to proposing two intertwined investigative cases personally involving the main characters, Syndrome develops the dilemma with which The Mentor ended. It shows the protagonist’s inability to consider the crimes of his pupil totally wrong because, as a child, she had witnessed the massacre of her family.
This will lead him to closely observe the thin line separating good from evil, knowing full well that if he ever crosses it, he will never be able to go back.

You can download the ebook version or purchase one of the print editions (paperback and hardcover) directly from your favourite online store around the world.
A complete list of links is available on the website dedicated to the trilogy:

The price starts from £3.99/$4.99/€4.99 for the ebook edition.

Click or tap here to purchase the book!

You can also order it at your favourite Waterstones (UK) and Barnes & Noble (USA) bricks-and-mortar store.

Official description of Syndrome.

While investigating the murder of two known offenders with connections to a notorious, recently escaped London drug trafficker, the Scotland Yard forensic team headed by DCI Eric Shaw becomes involved in a child abuse case. A nurse had accused a mother of a series of violent, feverish attacks on her ten-year-old son, Jimmy. The woman would exasperate the condition of her child to draw the attention and compassion of health workers at the hospital.

Eric learned of this accusation by chance because he is dating Catherine Foulger, the paediatrician looking after the child. She is an old flame, and he is seeing her again in the hope of putting some order back in his life after discovering the identity of the serial killer nicknamed Black Death.

But this is a relationship his former partner Adele Pennington, still working as an investigator in Forensic Services, has not really accepted.

DCI Eric Shaw returns.

Click or tap here to purchase the book!

But there’s more to it.
The final book in the Detective Eric Shaw Trilogy, Beyond the Limit, is now available for pre-order in most online stores, too!
It’ll be published on 31 May 2023.

Originally published at



Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli

Italian science fiction & thriller author, scientific & literary translator, biologist, science communicator, dreamer. 🇮🇹: EN: